Requirements states

Requirements states – 14 and counting

Like human beings, requirements also have a life cycle. They take birth, they grow and finally they may die as well. So it is worthwhile to understand different statuses requirements may have. Here are the few that I have gathered in my requirements engineering career:

1. Unstated / Latent – A need exists but it is not expressed

2. Stated – Stakeholder has expressed the need

3. Documented – Requirements have been documented

4. Elaborated – Requirement has been detailed out

5. Modeled – Has been expressed using modeling language

6. Verified – Requirement has been verified for quality

7. Agreed – Stakeholders agree to the verified requirement

8. Validated – Requirement is proved to be beneficial to the organization

9. Prioritized / Ranked – Requirement has been ranked for development

10. Developed / Procured – Requirement is developed

11. Tested – Requirement has been tested

12. Implemented – Requirements has been deployed in production

13. Retired – Requirement has been retired as it has expired its utility

14. Rejected – Requirements can also get rejected during the lifecycle if they are not found useful to the organization or inherently incorrect.

Do let us know if you have come across other states which were useful in your project context.


About Adaptive Processes


Adaptive Processes provides CBAPCCBAECBACPRE, Agile BA and other business analysis certification training online and consulting needs for Individual or Corporate either online or offline. Adaptive Processes is an endorsed education provider of IIBA®, Canada and IREB®, Germany.

Learn more on this training here: . For more updates on courses & tips follow us on: Facebook | Twitter | LinkedIn | Google+

Follow LN


COO at Adaptive Processes
Author Mentor Consultant

24+ years of professional experience inbusiness analysis, software product development, business analysis, ERP implementations, software processes , strategic Change Management Consultancy.

Author of 12 books on Business Analysis and Requirements Engineering
Follow LN

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *